Find the answer to your Linux question:
hey every one im new here and im new to linux as well i bought a second hard drive and i used gparted live cd to format the hd i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

need help with second hardrive

hey every one im new here and im new to linux as well

i bought a second hard drive and i used gparted live cd to format the hd i used an extended partition and created 3 300gb logical partitions now my problem is i try to put files in it and this is what i get

and i try to run it and terminal but it says im nit the owner but i tried to change the permissions under the permission tab in properties but it will not let me any help

file type i used was et3

any help would realy help thanx in advance
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hello and Welcome
    I think you need to add the new hard drive to the /etc/fstab file and in doing so this will allow you to set the permissions for the drive also. See the man page for fstab, open a temrinal window and issue this command
    Code:
    man fstab
    You already have the file, you just need to add the new hard dive to it.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Hello and Welcome
    I think you need to add the new hard drive to the /etc/fstab file and in doing so this will allow you to set the permissions for the drive also. See the man page for fstab, open a temrinal window and issue this command
    Code:
    man fstab
    You already have the file, you just need to add the new hard dive to it.
    i tried to use the
    mkdir /media/disk/user command but it said file or dirrectory does not exist
    i tried somethin different what i did was i opened the partition