Find the answer to your Linux question:
i need help. i want to install mint and erase ubuntu10.10 (unstable) i am a noob to linux but good w/xp dos and osx. this old desktop crash/crash/crash. dvd plyr ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

install mint and erase ubuntu

i need help. i want to install mint and erase ubuntu10.10 (unstable) i am a noob to linux but good w/xp dos and osx. this old desktop crash/crash/crash. dvd plyr won't work etc... no hardware probs...I have a xp comp and a usb stick(4g) help?

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello and welcome!

You shouldn't need to erase Ubuntu. Instead, you can install Mint onto those same partitions. Check out UNetbootin for installing Linux Mint if your DVD player doesn't work:

UNetbootin - Homepage and Downloads
    oz

Just Joined!
    Bret, welcome to the forum. I found Ubuntu 10.10 & Mint 10 to be a little unstable on my computers. So if you're having issues with Ubuntu 10.10, they may be the same on Mint 10, Mint 10 is based upon Ubuntu 10.10.

If you prefer Mint (as I do), Mint 9 may be a better choice, it's a LTS distro, and will be supported until sometime in 2013. Plus, it does run better for me, too.

Another thing you may want to consider is your formatting. I did some research before install, and formatting in ext3 may be preferable over ext4. This is documented on the Ubuntu site, it applies to both of the latest versions of Ubuntu, Mint, and other Ubuntu derivatives, such as Xubuntu. It's mainly a performance/stability issue.

Hopefully, this post is of some assistance to you.

Best of Luck,
    Cat

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close