Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux.. I haven't been able to watch or listen to anything on iPlayer. Every time, it starts to load, and then I get an error message saying: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't get BBC iPlayer + other video sites to work - Linux Mint 10 LXDE

I'm new to Linux..

I haven't been able to watch or listen to anything on iPlayer. Every time, it starts to load, and then I get an error message saying: content doesn't seem to be working right now, please try again later. ITV Player, 4oD, Channel 5, and TV YouTube videos don't work either (although normal YouTube videos work okay, and the adverts before the TV catch-up programmes work).

I'm running Linux Mint 10 LXDE. I have a very good Internet connection. I have to go through a university proxy, but iPlayer works fine for everyone else here. I've emptied the cache several times. I have a whole load of GStreamer stuff, VLC, MPlayer, Flash, Java, and Gecko Media Player, which gives me Quicktme, RealPlayer and WMP plugins in Firefox. I've tried in Chrome, Opera and Firefox. My firewall's switched off.

Does anyone know why I might be having problems? Thanks

Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by Katy8989 View Post
    I'm new to Linux..

I haven't been able to watch or listen to anything on iPlayer. Every time, it starts to load, and then I get an error message saying: content doesn't seem to be working right now, please try again later. ITV Player, 4oD, Channel 5, and TV YouTube videos don't work either (although normal YouTube videos work okay, and the adverts before the TV catch-up programmes work).