Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi folks. I'm currently dual booting Windows 7 x64 and Linux Mint 10 x64. I have Windows on one HDD and Mint on another. Currently, when I start up I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

W7/Linux Mint dual boot upgrade

Hi folks.

I'm currently dual booting Windows 7 x64 and Linux Mint 10 x64. I have Windows on one HDD and Mint on another.
    Currently, when I start up I get Windows bootloader. The system will default to Windows unless I choose Mint.
    Mint 11 should be released anytime and I would like to do a clean install and replace Mint 10
    I'm a complete noob with Linux and I have a couple of question regarding this.

Firstly, the drive with Linux Mint on it is a 1 terabyte drive with an 709GB NTFS storage partition where I store backup media files.
    Also on this drive is a 48GB NTFS partition, marked -Healthy [Active, Primary Partition] and a 17GB NTFS partition marked -Healthy [Primary Partition]

There is also a 70GB partition plus a small 3.4GB partition, I believe this is my Linux Mint install as it does not show as NTFS when viewed in Windows Computer Management.
    I'll attach a snip of this as it's confusing.

Anyway. I don't really know why I have the 48GB and 17GB NTFS partitions but I suspect the 48GB may have held my previous Linux Mint 9 install.
    These two small partitions show as empty. They would be better amalgamated with my storage NTFS pertition. How can I achieve this? Delete Volume?

My primary concern though, is how do I do a fresh install of Linux Mint 11 when it is released?
    I am not concerned about losing my Mint 10 install as I have nothing in with it I need to keep.
    Can I just boot from the DVD and install on the 70GB partition? Will this mess up my Windows Boot?

Sorry if this is a bit muddled and thanks in advance, John
    Attached Images Attached Images

Linux Guru