Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
This is not a serious issue, but it is rather weird: I am connected via ethernet cable and the indicator doesn't seem to appear in the designated area in the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14

    Exclamation no indicator in the designated area in the bar


    This is not a serious issue, but it is rather weird: I am connected via ethernet cable and the indicator doesn't seem to appear in the designated area in the bar. It used to work for a while, and then stopped appearing. The connection itself works fine. What would make the indicator icon come back?

  2. #2
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,571
    I had this in LMDE with XFCE. The leftmost icon in the notification area wouldn't show (it's there but you can't see it!). I think I had to right click the notification area and select properties and then make sure show frame was ticked.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14
    The frame is visible, but there are no options to make any more items to appear. There is just a list of "known applications".

  4. #4
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,571
    I'm fairly sure it was related to that. Try unticking show frame and then ticking it again
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14
    Unticking did not do the trick. Do I have to "restart" that service somehow? For example Skype and gmail indicators appear every time I start them.

  6. #6
    Linux User twoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    280
    we are talking gnome here? If so try right clicking on the blank part of the bar and add to panel.
    if not then ??
    - Clouds don't crash - Bertrand Meyer

    registered Linux user 393557

    finally - hw to brag about - but next year it will look pitifully quaint:
    Athlon64 X2 3800 - 1G PC3200 - 250G SATA - ati radeon x300
    circa 2006

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by twoHats View Post
    we are talking gnome here? If so try right clicking on the blank part of the bar and add to panel.
    if not then ??
    Sorry, I should have mentioned that I'm using Mint Debian with XFCE.
    Last edited by hiihto; 06-10-2011 at 05:31 PM. Reason: more info added

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14
    Anyone got more answers on this one, please? I kinda need the indicator so that I don't have to physically reset my router too often.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14
    Ok, this is now solved for me. The applet was not installed, so could not appear in the tray.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •