Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
am running mint8 & winxp dual boot but to use mint i have to first boot into windows then restart and go into linux else if i don't and directly ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! jonniemuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    E.Africa
    Posts
    58

    boot


    am running mint8 & winxp dual boot but to use mint i have to first boot into windows then restart and go into linux else if i don't and directly go to linux from the menu in the grub the system just shows a black screen and doesn't load x. why is it so and what can i do to resolve this problem.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,040
    try booting mint in text mode and see what error messages you get

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    34
    Regularly dual boot windows and various linux distros, including mint and this is truly an odd bird. Without the machine or some of the messages, I donīt believe anybody can help. Just as jonathon183 has stated, the messages are needed to begin.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    20
    Also a copy of your menu.lst and details of partitions that the different OSs are on might help

  5. #5
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,315
    I have heard of a similar effect where a piece of hardware requires firmware to be loaded by Windows and then a warm restart keeps the firmware loaded. Never heard of that with a graphics card though
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  6. #6
    Just Joined! jonniemuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    E.Africa
    Posts
    58
    #
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
    #
    # It is automatically generated by /usr/sbin/grub-mkconfig using templates
    # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
    #

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    if [ -s /boot/grub/grubenv ]; then
    have_grubenv=true
    load_env
    fi
    set default="0"
    if [ ${prev_saved_entry} ]; then
    saved_entry=${prev_saved_entry}
    save_env saved_entry
    prev_saved_entry=
    save_env prev_saved_entry
    fi
    insmod ext2
    set root=(hd0,5)
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 0a6a4c60-45c2-4a2e-a31b-2e3dd1049bfe
    if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
    set gfxmode=640x480
    insmod gfxterm
    insmod vbe
    if terminal_output gfxterm ; then true ; else
    # For backward compatibility with versions of terminal.mod that don't
    # understand terminal_output
    terminal gfxterm
    fi
    fi
    if [ ${recordfail} = 1 ]; then
    set timeout=-1
    else
    set timeout=10
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    set menu_color_normal=white/black
    set menu_color_highlight=black/white
    ### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/06_mint_theme ###
    insmod ext2
    set root=(hd0,5)
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 0a6a4c60-45c2-4a2e-a31b-2e3dd1049bfe
    insmod png
    if background_image /boot/grub/linuxmint.png ; then
    set color_normal=white/black
    set color_highlight=white/light-gray
    else
    set menu_color_normal=white/black
    set menu_color_highlight=white/light-gray
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/06_mint_theme ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    menuentry "Linux Mint 8 Helena, linux 2.6.31-14-generic (/dev/sda5)" {
    recordfail=1
    if [ -n ${have_grubenv} ]; then save_env recordfail; fi
    set quiet=1
    insmod ext2
    set root=(hd0,5)
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 0a6a4c60-45c2-4a2e-a31b-2e3dd1049bfe
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-14-generic root=UUID=0a6a4c60-45c2-4a2e-a31b-2e3dd1049bfe ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-14-generic
    }
    menuentry "Linux Mint 8 Helena, linux 2.6.31-14-generic (recovery mode)" {
    recordfail=1
    if [ -n ${have_grubenv} ]; then save_env recordfail; fi
    insmod ext2
    set root=(hd0,5)
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 0a6a4c60-45c2-4a2e-a31b-2e3dd1049bfe
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-14-generic root=UUID=0a6a4c60-45c2-4a2e-a31b-2e3dd1049bfe ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-14-generic
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
    linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin
    }
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
    linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    menuentry "Microsoft Windows XP Professional (on /dev/sda1)" {
    insmod ntfs
    set root=(hd0,1)
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 901433ee1433d646
    drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
    chainloader +1
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
    # menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
    # the 'exec tail' line above.
    ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    thats my copy of grub.cfg in mint thats what its called, menu.lst is for open suse. but i intend to sweep of xp and go purely linux after your reply.

  7. #7
    Linux User twoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    280
    That looks like GRUB 2 to me... have you installed GRUB 2? I don't believe Mint 8 came with GRUB 2...

    Now if you could give us the results of:

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l /dev/sda
    you may need to use a different hard drive - like hda.
    - Clouds don't crash - Bertrand Meyer

    registered Linux user 393557

    finally - hw to brag about - but next year it will look pitifully quaint:
    Athlon64 X2 3800 - 1G PC3200 - 250G SATA - ati radeon x300
    circa 2006

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the output of these commands too
    Code:
    cat /etc/lsb-release
    lspci | grep -i vga
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •