Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I'm very stupid when it comes to computers, so please forgive me if this is something so simple you 6 year old kid could fix. Mint 11 works just fine ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Mint freezes when connected to the internet.


    I'm very stupid when it comes to computers, so please forgive me if this is something so simple you 6 year old kid could fix. Mint 11 works just fine until i try to connect to the internet. Firefox comes up and then it freezes before it can bring up the page. Mouse won't move, none of the lights on the key board will come on, caps lock, number lock, ect.

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    Hello there!

    I've not used Mint 11, but here we go... Can you tell us how much RAM you have in this computer? And was Mint 11 installed fresh, or was it upgraded from an earlier version?
    Before you open FireFox, do this.
    Open a Terminal window, which you can find under an Applications Menu. Perhaps System Tools. Run these 3 commands:
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    df -h
    free -m
    Post the output here.


    That's a lower case L in the fdisk command, not a number one.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2
    It replaced a very crashed windows 7, it wouldn't even boot up. Thanks for the help

    Suo fdisk -l
    Disk /dev/ sad :250.1 gb, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes /512 bytes
    I/O size Minimum/optimal : 512 bytes/ 512 bytes
    disk identifer: 0x0002b8b6

    Device boot start end blocks id system
    /dev/sda1 * 1 30193 242519040 83 linux
    /dev/sda2 30193 30402 1677313 5 extended
    /dev/sda5 30193 30402 1677312 82 linux swap/ Solaris

    df -h
    filesystem size used avail use% mounted on
    /dev/sdal 228g 2.4g 214g 2% /
    none 795m 660k 794m 1% /dev
    none 802m 204k 802m 1% /dev/shm
    none 802m 84k 802m 1% /dev/run
    none 802m 0 802m 0% /var/lock

    free -m
    total used free shared buffers chached
    mem: 1603 640 963 0 35 248
    -/+ buffers/chache: 356 1247
    swap: 1637 o 1637

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    Let's try the simple stuff first.
    Since you installed, have you run any system updates, at all? If not, do this in a terminal.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    Then, reboot and try FireFox.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #5
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,653
    If that doesn't work, try renaming the .mozilla directory in your home directory. The . in front of the name means it's hidden so in Nautilus you will need to press Ctrl + h to see it.
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •