Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
My issue is with a T-mobile dongle i picked up that refuses to connect. I rang customer support and got limited set up instructions from one gentleman but they were ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16

    T-mobile dongle refuses to connect


    My issue is with a T-mobile dongle i picked up that refuses to connect. I rang customer support and got limited set up instructions from one gentleman but they were not successful. A second call and I was told Linux was not supported despite me having evidence it has worked on another distro.

    I'm using the latest Mint version and have updated everything via the update manager. My knowledge of the command line is almost zero so if this is required it will need to be pretty basic

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I've never dealt with a dongle for connection, so I can't contribute much on it. But a little more info might help somebody find some tricks for you.
    When the dongle is attached, open a terminal and do lsusb.
    Post back the output here.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16
    Bus 002 Device 003: ID 045e:00dd Microsoft Corp. Comfort Curve Keyboard 2000 V1.0
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 04d9:0499 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc. Optical Mouse
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 004: ID 19d2:1514 ONDA Communication S.p.A.
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

  4. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    And what part is not working? Is the device not detected at all when you insert it?
    Can you post the output of

    Code:
    sudo lsmod
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig -a
    And finally this next command will output a lot of text...we probably only need the last 50-100 lines if you can manage that it'd be great, if not then post the whole thing.
    Code:
    sudo dmesg
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16
    The device is detected. In windows it would install drivers as I can see folders for windows and mac however it will not open via wine saying its read only. as far as the output of the commands

    sudo lsmod generates
    Code:
    Module                  Size  Used by
    usb_storage            43946  1 
    uas                    17676  0 
    nls_utf8               12493  1 
    isofs                  39571  1 
    binfmt_misc            13213  1 
    dm_crypt               22463  0 
    vesafb                 13449  1 
    nvidia               9766978  48 
    snd_hda_codec_realtek   255820  1 
    snd_hda_intel          24140  2 
    snd_hda_codec          90901  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
    snd_hwdep              13274  1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_pcm                80244  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
    snd_seq_midi           13132  0 
    snd_rawmidi            25269  1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_midi_event     14475  1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq                51291  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    tpm_infineon           17324  0 
    tpm_tis                13993  0 
    snd_timer              28659  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    snd_seq_device         14110  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    snd                    55295  13 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    ppdev                  12849  0 
    tpm                    21251  2 tpm_infineon,tpm_tis
    tpm_bios               13460  1 tpm
    joydev                 17322  0 
    parport_pc             32111  0 
    psmouse                73312  0 
    nv_tco                 13331  0 
    serio_raw              12990  0 
    i2c_nforce2            12906  0 
    lp                     13349  0 
    soundcore              12600  1 snd
    snd_page_alloc         14073  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    parport                36746  3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
    k8temp                 12872  0 
    dm_raid45              88410  0 
    xor                    21860  1 dm_raid45
    btrfs                 527341  0 
    zlib_deflate           26594  1 btrfs
    libcrc32c              12543  1 btrfs
    usbhid                 41704  0 
    hid                    77084  1 usbhid
    forcedeth              58190  0 
    pata_amd               13762  0 
    sata_nv                23176  2 
    floppy                 60032  0
    sudo ifconfig -a generates
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:19:99:22:04:a0  
              inet addr:192.168.0.100  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::219:99ff:fe22:4a0/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:38000 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:34361 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:37642779 (37.6 MB)  TX bytes:6689504 (6.6 MB)
              Interrupt:19 Base address:0x2000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:1200 (1.2 KB)  TX bytes:1200 (1.2 KB)
    sudo dmesg Generates (in part)
    Code:
    6.656006] 
    [    6.656010] floppy driver state
    [    6.656012] -------------------
    [    6.656023] now=4294893960 last interrupt=4294893734 diff=226 last called handler=recal_interrupt
    [    6.656026] timeout_message=floppy start
    [    6.656028] last output bytes:
    [    6.656030] 14 90 4294892705
    [    6.656032] 18 80 4294892706
    [    6.656034]  8 80 4294892706
    [    6.656036]  8 80 4294892706
    [    6.656037]  8 80 4294892706
    [    6.656039]  8 80 4294892706
    [    6.656041] 12 80 4294893213
    [    6.656043]  0 90 4294893213
    [    6.656045] 13 90 4294893213
    [    6.656046]  0 90 4294893213
    [    6.656048] 1a 90 4294893213
    [    6.656050]  0 90 4294893213
    [    6.656052]  3 80 4294893213
    [    6.656054] 81 90 4294893213
    [    6.656055] 10 90 4294893213
    [    6.656057]  7 80 4294893213
    [    6.656059]  1 90 4294893213
    [    6.656061]  8 82 4294893734
    [    6.656062]  7 80 4294893739
    [    6.656064]  1 90 4294893739
    [    6.656066] last result at 4294893734
    [    6.656067] last redo_fd_request at 4294893208
    [    6.656071] 71 00                                            q.
    [    6.656082] status=82
    [    6.656084] fdc_busy=1
    [    6.656088] do_floppy=recal_interrupt
    [    6.656090] cont=f8035090
    [    6.656091] current_req=f3199658
    [    6.656093] command_status=-1
    [    6.656094] 
    [    6.656098] floppy1: floppy timeout called
    [    6.656104] end_request: I/O error, dev fd1, sector 0
    [    6.719810] EXT4-fs (sda1): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
    [    7.857983] floppy1: unexpected interrupt 
    [    7.858090] floppy1: sensei repl[0]=71 repl[1]=0 
    [    9.372506] Adding 2488316k swap on /dev/sda5.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:2488316k 
    [   10.515122] <30>udev[338]: starting version 167
    [   10.676156] EXT4-fs (sda1): re-mounted. Opts: errors=remount-ro
    [   11.558127] k8temp 0000:00:18.3: Temperature readouts might be wrong - check erratum #141
    [   11.905198] lp: driver loaded but no devices found
    [   11.913252] i2c i2c-0: nForce2 SMBus adapter at 0x88c0
    [   11.913354] i2c i2c-1: nForce2 SMBus adapter at 0x8880
    [   11.938400] NV_TCO: NV TCO WatchDog Timer Driver v0.01
    [   11.940273] NV_TCO: Watchdog reboot not detected.
    [   11.941751] NV_TCO: initialized (0x1440). heartbeat=30 sec (nowayout=0)
    [   12.214108] ppdev: user-space parallel port driver
    [   16.015457] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKM] enabled at IRQ 18
    [   16.015481] HDA Intel 0000:00:10.1: PCI INT B -> Link[LNKM] -> GSI 18 (level, high) -> IRQ 18
    [   16.015486] hda_intel: Disable MSI for Nvidia chipset
    [   16.015538] HDA Intel 0000:00:10.1: setting latency timer to 64
    [   17.860057] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
    [   17.860063] Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
    [   19.437369] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKG] enabled at IRQ 17
    [   19.437393] nvidia 0000:00:05.0: PCI INT A -> Link[LNKG] -> GSI 17 (level, high) -> IRQ 17
    [   19.437401] nvidia 0000:00:05.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [   19.437407] vgaarb: device changed decodes: PCI:0000:00:05.0,olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=io+mem
    [   19.438835] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86 Kernel Module  270.41.06  Mon Apr 18 14:54:25 PDT 2011
    [   24.814766] vesafb: framebuffer at 0xe0000000, mapped to 0xf9f80000, using 12288k, total 12288k
    [   24.814771] vesafb: mode is 2048x1536x32, linelength=8192, pages=0
    [   24.814774] vesafb: scrolling: redraw
    [   24.814778] vesafb: Truecolor: size=8:8:8:8, shift=24:16:8:0
    [   24.815229] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 256x96
    [   25.027371] fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
    [   41.488006] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    [   46.087409] EXT4-fs (sda1): re-mounted. Opts: errors=remount-ro,commit=0
    [   87.574503] ISO 9660 Extensions: Microsoft Joliet Level 1
    [   88.033927] ISOFS: changing to secondary root
    [   93.490626] EXT4-fs (sda1): re-mounted. Opts: errors=remount-ro,commit=0
    [   95.005923] VFS: busy inodes on changed media or resized disk sr0
    [  107.144142] Marking TSC unstable due to cpufreq changes
    [  107.148147] Switching to clocksource hpet
    [  359.176057] usb 1-8: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 4
    [  359.380396] usbcore: registered new interface driver uas
    [  359.401080] Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
    [  359.401329] scsi6 : usb-storage 1-8:1.0
    [  359.403503] usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
    [  359.403513] USB Mass Storage support registered.
    [  360.409814] scsi 6:0:0:0: CD-ROM            ZTE      USB SCSI CD-ROM  0001 PQ: 0 ANSI: 0
    [  360.420650] sr1: scsi3-mmc drive: 0x/0x caddy
    [  360.420961] sr 6:0:0:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr1
    [  360.421131] sr 6:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg2 type 5
    [  360.455000] sr1: CDROM (ioctl) error, command: Get event status notification 4a 01 00 00 10 00 00 00 08 00
    [  360.455022] sr: Sense Key : Hardware Error [current] 
    [  360.455030] sr: Add. Sense: No additional sense information
    [  360.491984] sr1: CDROM (ioctl) error, command: Xpwrite, Read disk info 51 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 00
    [  360.492026] sr: Sense Key : Hardware Error [current] 
    [  360.492033] sr: Add. Sense: No additional sense information
    [  360.696156] ISO 9660 Extensions: Microsoft Joliet Level 1
    [  360.698143] ISOFS: changing to secondary root
    [ 2083.200478] exe (2203): /proc/2203/oom_adj is deprecated, please use /proc/2203/oom_score_adj instead
    .

    all gibberish to me but I really do not want to have to return this dongle
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 10-05-2011 at 12:16 AM. Reason: Added Code Tags

  6. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Blah! Not the results I wanted to see but that's ok. I think you should follow this link which talks about usb modeswitch, a program to stop your dongle from being detected as a CDROM. Which is what I think is happening here. It's not the exact same model but the problem is the same.
    [ubuntu] MDC525UPA from ONDA communication - Ubuntu Forums

    You might already have usb modeswitch installed, I think it's part of the usb-utils package.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16
    oh i do have that mode switch thing. that much I gathered from various websites and forums. bit too early in the morning for that link but i will be checking it at a more human hour lol. probably late this afternoon

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16
    update: I got a flashing blue light soon as i hit eject but i still can't connect. some setting is still off. it comes up in my network settings though

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    16
    update 2

    I double checked and found the following

    sudo wvdialconf produces....
    Found an USB modem on /dev/ttyACM0. (this used to be ACM1 *confused*)
    Modem configuration written to /etc/wvdial.conf.
    ttyACM0<Info>: Speed 460800; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2"
    ttyACM1<Info>: Speed 460800; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0"
    ttyACM1A<Info>: Speed 460800; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0"

    however.... on entering gnome-ppp and hitting setup then detect i get

    GNOME PPP: STDOUT: Editing `/dev/null'.
    GNOME PPP: STDOUT:
    GNOME PPP: STDOUT: Scanning your serial ports for a modem.
    GNOME PPP: STDOUT:
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 9600 baud
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 115200 baud
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: Modem Port Scan<*1>: S1 S2 S3 S4 S5 S6 S7 S8
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: Modem Port Scan<*1>: S9 S10 S11 S12 S13 S14 S15 S16
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: Modem Port Scan<*1>: S17 S18 S19 S20 S21 S22 S23 S24
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: Modem Port Scan<*1>: S25 S26 S27 S28 S29 S30 S31
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyACM0<Info>: Device or resource busy
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: Modem Port Scan<*1>: ACM0
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyACM1<Info>: Device or resource busy
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: Modem Port Scan<*1>: ACM1
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyACM1A<Info>: Device or resource busy
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: Modem Port Scan<*1>: ACM1A
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: WvModem<*1>: Cannot get information for serial port.
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyACM2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- ERROR
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyACM2<*1>: failed with 2400 baud, next try: 9600 baud
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyACM2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- ERROR
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyACM2<*1>: failed with 9600 baud, next try: 115200 baud
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyACM2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- ERROR
    GNOME PPP: STDOUT:
    GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyACM2<*1>: and failed too at 115200, giving up.
    GNOME PPP: STDOUT:
    GNOME PPP: STDOUT: Sorry, no modem was detected! Is it in use by another program?
    GNOME PPP: STDOUT: Did you configure it properly with setserial?
    GNOME PPP: STDOUT:

  10. #10
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    We've kinda reached the point where I can no longer help. I've never used GNOME PPP or wvdialconf. Hopefully someone else can help out here.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •