Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, so I'm a super newb at linux, windows user, currently running XP 32-bit. I just downloaded the .iso for Linux Mint 12 LXDE CD 32-bit, made a live USB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ugh... Boot Error

Ok, so I'm a super newb at linux, windows user, currently running XP 32-bit. I just downloaded the .iso for Linux Mint 12 LXDE CD 32-bit, made a live USB with unetbootin and rebooted, selected USB FLA in the boot menu, and got a black screen with 'BOOT ERROR' at the top. Sooo I made a Live CD and got a screen that said Automatic boot in X seconds, and then it didn't boot. Even after 30 minutes(my computer is not 'that' slow, windows boots from cold in less than a minute). So I turned it off via the power button and tried the 'Compatibility Mode', and it looked like it was about to load... but stopped when it got to " /casper/initrd.lz " or something close to that. Anybody have any ideas? Oh and hi, I'm new here

Edit: Forgot to mention I do have slowish 3G wireless internet, so downloading a new .iso is a pain.

Update: I tried booting from the live CD again, and this time it got a bit further, it started scrolling down a bajillion error messages like( SQUASHFS error: Unable to read metadata cache entry [276dc71c]
    SQUASHFS error: Unable to read inode 0x21af002d6 )
    and then every 10 seconds or so this would pop up( nouveau No native mode, forcing panel scaling )
    I also tried downloading and USB booting Slitaz, just to see if ANY linux would work. Looks like that's a no.
    I'm completely lost here, apparently there's some serious issue with hardware support here, maybe my graphics card? It's an NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS.
    Last edited by Devster; 03-12-2012 at 05:15 AM.