Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a newbie to Linux entirely but somewhat comfortable using DOS when provided the instructions so here goes. I have downloaded and cut an ISO disk with Mint 12 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

First Basic Questions for Newbie

I am a newbie to Linux entirely but somewhat comfortable using DOS when provided the instructions so here goes.

I have downloaded and cut an ISO disk with Mint 12 which I want to do a clean install to a spare system that I have. I also grabbed a copy of the manual and several of the other guides to help out.

My System
    MSI 785GT-E63 Motherboard
    X64 Based PC
    AMD Penom II x6 1090T Processor (6 cores)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX-460 video card
    Kingston KVR800D2/1GB (4 gigs total RAM-have ordered some new RAM to take this up to 8gb)
    Two Western Digital 10,000rpm Raptor SATA drives
    Lite-On ATAPI iHBS212 Sata DVD/Blu-Ray Burner

What are the various differences between Mint 12 LXDE, Mint 12 KDE and Linux Mint 12,? Based on the info above which one is probably the best choice for me as a newbie to proceed with? I mainly am an Internet/Email user but also dabble extensively in photo and video editing.