Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys, Complete linux noob here! im pretty handy with ms and osx but i thought it was time to start on linux so you will probably see me rearing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation Launching a .jar file with more memory

Hey guys, Complete linux noob here!

im pretty handy with ms and osx but i thought it was time to start on linux so you will probably see me rearing my ugly head around here a lot for a while :P

first question...
    Im trying to launch minecraft with more memory but all my searching just come up with is "just launch it using java -Xmx1024M -Xms512M -cp Minecraft.jar net.minecraft.LauncherFrame"

...this is all well and good but i have no idea how! on windows i use a similar method but there you just make a .bat file. Im assuming its something similar on linux but using the terminal. If anyone could show me this step by step i would love you forever and maybe even give you a cookie (yummy kind, not the interwebz kind).

If it helps you to give me a more accurate answer my minecraft.jar file is in the home directory. pwd gives me /home/user . dont know if that helps but i thought i should mention anything i know lol.

Thanks in advanced guys and girls, I eagerly await your response.

Peace
    Dan

Just Joined!
    java -Xmx1024M -Xms512M -cp "Minecraft.jar net.minecraft.LauncherFrame"

you probably want more object-stack(-Xms) and as far as i know 1GB is the limit for any.

type "java -h" at the terminal to see the list of options
    there is also java -X to see extra options not mention in the -h set

java -Xms786432k -Xmx1048576k -cp "Minecraft.jar net.minecraft.LauncherFrame"

You could increase your initial object-stack size.

note: -Xss (objects quantity) is a little interesting to understand but would be too variable in q to set so ignore that unless you get a very comprehensive explaination.