Find the answer to your Linux question:
As a computer user i started working on ubuntu. When Unity came, which i don't like a friend of mine told me about mint. So i did install mint and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Problem installing .run file

As a computer user i started working on ubuntu. When Unity came, which i don't like a friend of mine told me about mint. So i did install mint and it is worken now but i have a problem with my .run file. I downloaded some applications from microchip. when done i marked them as axecutable but when i try to run them from the terminal nothing happens. From the directory where the files are in i execute the following command "sudo ./mplabc18-v3.40-linux-full-installer.run". I am not very experienced with linux and can't find out what i am doing wrong. Under ubuntu it worked well but i don't want to fo back.

Thanks in advance

Those files will not run in Linux. In general with rare exception, we do NOT download stuff from some web site and install it in Linux! Most (preferably all) of your software should come from the repositories provided by Mint (they include the Ubuntu repositories). Use the Mint software manager or Synaptic Package manger to install software, not downloading whatever sounds cool from some web site.

Almost everything there is for Windows has a Linux counterpart. Some Windows stuff will run inside a windows "emulator" called WINE (included in Mint by default I think). Here is a pretty good list of the Linux equivalent programs.

Just Joined!