Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone! I'm new to both Linux and forums in general, so I'll keep this short. I recently installed Mint 13 MATE 32-bit to my Dell Inspiron 1501 computer. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with wireless? (Mint 13 MATE 32-bit)

Hello everyone! I'm new to both Linux and forums in general, so I'll keep this short.

I recently installed Mint 13 MATE 32-bit to my Dell Inspiron 1501 computer. I set it up dualbooting because I want a safety net in case Linux goes to crap by some way. (with my luck, I wouldn't be surprised)

Anyways, I installed it and all, but for some reason my wireless won't work. My wireless works on my Windows side of my computer (Windows 7 Ultimate) but not on the Linux side.

I installed the driver for it (Broadcom STA wireless driver) but now it doesn't even give me an option to use wireless. It did before I installed it, but obviously I couldn't use it because it wasn't installed. Now it is installed and the wireless option dropped off completely.

If anyone has any advice or a way to fix it, I would be very grateful.

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello and welcome to the forums!

I don't run any wireless devices on my Linux box so can't help with it much, but we do have the following wireless article that might help you to get started on troubleshooting the issue:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html
    oz

Not all Braodcom cards work with the Braodcom STA driver. I have one that is a 4311 card and it requires the b43 driver. That could be the same issue you have. Please post the output of
    Code:
    lspci

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close