Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys I need some help. I'm new to Linux so confusion is a factor in my situation. I have a 120gb hdd, I have just freshly installed windows on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation Help Installing Mint 13 Dual boot

Hey guys I need some help. I'm new to Linux so confusion is a factor in my situation. I have a 120gb hdd, I have just freshly installed windows on my hdd. During the windows instalation I only selected a partition of 50gb for Windows leaving the rest for Mint. I'm installing mint from a usb. Well I am having complications. I have tried following this:
    blog.sudobits.com/2011/11/30/how-to-install-linux-mint-12-using-live-usb-or-cd-dvd/]How to install Linux Mint 12 : using live USB or CD/DVD

to help but my partitions dont look the same. ANy help would be great. I included a screenshot hoping it will help solve my issue. Any help would be greatly apreciated. Thanks in advance. I also tried to download a partition manager but i got an error because it said that not all files were able to be downloaded from server. Dont know if it means much, like i said im a completer noob with linux Dx

Screenshot.jpg

EDIT: I think I figured it out. I deleted the 60gb partition and selected install. Maybe it was lareday installed?
    Last edited by Wizzy990; 08-21-2012 at 03:13 PM.

Just Joined! The_Penguin_Is_My_Master's Avatar
    What I always do is let Windows take up the full hard drive. (You may have to use GParted to make this happen again) and then install Linux "alongside Windows". Works every time for me. No need to go making all of your own partitions that way.

awc
    When setting up a dual boot system, the best approach is to take a minute and think about how much space you'll need for each OS. Backup whatever data you want to save and format your disk so you can start with a clean slate. The easiest way to do this is to install Windows first.