Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Greeting! I''m trying to Ethernet link with a XP desktop. My Maya XFCE lap indicates Wired Connection but I have no desktop icon linking to the XP. I believe I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    48

    Ethernet Wire Connected Indicated But No Desktop Icon


    Greeting!

    I''m trying to Ethernet link with a XP desktop. My Maya XFCE lap indicates Wired Connection but I have no desktop icon linking to the XP. I believe I have the basics set up but unsure. What am I missing, or does Linux do the desktop icon of another system thing?

    Thanks!

    Jim in NYC

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6
    Is it going through a switch or PC to PC? If it's PC to PC you need a CrossOver Ethernet Cable.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    48
    Thanks for the reply!

    Is there anyway this cross-over can be done in software within the machines? If not, if you're familiar with them, would recommend those $1.90 crossover adapters on eBay?

    Thanks for any hints!

    Jim in NYC

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    North Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    22
    You could make a crossover cable. Look up ethernet crossover cable on Wikipedia. The cable ends are about $5 for 10. The crimp tool is about $10 or so. Or, easiest, get a cheap hub. That will perform the same, if not better, than an adapter. You cannot make a crossover in software. You would have to have an auto-sensing ethernet card to begin with.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    near Berea, Kentucky (in a tipi)
    Posts
    47
    You also don't mention DHCP. You can get by with manually assigned static IP addresses. Each end needs to get an address someow if you hope to TCP/IP.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    223
    jimwg.

    Not sure what you mean by desktop icon.

    Have you tried pinging each box from the other box?

    I have come across many many fairly NICs that will handle the "crossover cabling" issues.

    Having said that, before I experienced it for the first time, I always had my own crossover cables for everything from null modem to ether and I was, frankly, shocked when I saw two NICs connected OK with a straight cable.

    In the first instance, I would try just connecting the two boxes directly using the existing cable and see how you go. If no joy, then look into a crossover.

    Cheers - VP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •