Find the answer to your Linux question:
This is my first post, I apologize if I am unaware of some forum rules. I am using a Satellite P745, originally using Windows 7, which is the only OS ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

USB Boot Linux Mint Wifi issues

This is my first post, I apologize if I am unaware of some forum rules.
    I am using a Satellite P745, originally using Windows 7, which is the only OS on the hard drive. I am using a flash drive and UNETbootin to boot Linux Mint 10 (julia). Everything works fine, except for connecting to a wireless network. The wireless card (Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 6150) connects fine through windows, however Linux does not even recognize that any wireless network exists. I am very new to Linux, and despite several hours of searching am still unsure of how to get the drivers and other necessary things needed for the wireless card.

Thanks a bunch guys, and again I apologize if I don't know the rules.

Linux Guru
    Did you download the windows version of unetbootin and then use unetbootin to download Mint and put it on a flash drive?
    Did you then install Mint on a separate partition? or are you just using the flash drive?
    You would need to explain what you mean by "Linux does not even recognize that any wireless network exists".
    Go to the link below here at the forums and read it and post the requested info so you can get some help.

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html

Just Joined!
    Yes, I downloaded the windows unetbootion and then used it to download the "10_live_x64" version of Linux Mint.

I've just been using the flash drive, I'm not sure if that's the problem, I'm not a computer expert by any means but I feel like that shouldn't affect it.