Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Well, windows 7 will no longer start. Heck, I can't even get into safe mode anymore. I've been wanting to switch to linux for some time now and i guess ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    8

    done with windows


    Well, windows 7 will no longer start. Heck, I can't even get into safe mode anymore. I've been wanting to switch to linux for some time now and i guess this is it. My question is, can I burn the dvd using my wifes' macbook without messing it up? Is there anything else I need to know? I've read most of the user guide, so I think I can install on my desktop without to much trouble. Just a matter of burning the dvd.
    Thanks,
    Shawn

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    Quote Originally Posted by macstrange View Post
    Well, windows 7 will no longer start. Heck, I can't even get into safe mode anymore. I've been wanting to switch to linux for some time now and i guess this is it. My question is, can I burn the dvd using my wifes' macbook without messing it up? Is there anything else I need to know? I've read most of the user guide, so I think I can install on my desktop without to much trouble. Just a matter of burning the dvd.
    Thanks,
    Shawn
    Hello and welcome!

    Yes, you can burn the ISO image you've downloaded (or will download) to DVD (or CD depending on the size) w/o harming your host OS.

    What distro are you considering, out of curiosity? Be sure to check your hardware specs first, before diving in, too.

    Edit: I assume you are going to try the Linux Mint distro!
    Last edited by atreyu; 02-05-2013 at 12:38 AM. Reason: Mint!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    8
    Mint seems to be the one.

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    Quote Originally Posted by macstrange View Post
    Mint seems to be the one.
    What's that? The darling of Desktop Linux? Yes, you're quite right. Distrowatch's page hit ranking agrees.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You can burn ISO image to USB drive also. Could you post your machine's specs here?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    8
    its an asus essentio with pentium 5 equivalent. Just got done installing mint, restarted and now have "error: no such device, grub rescue>. What to do?

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    Quote Originally Posted by macstrange View Post
    its an asus essentio with pentium 5 equivalent. Just got done installing mint, restarted and now have "error: no such device, grub rescue>. What to do?
    That is certainly *not* nice.

    Hopefully a quick reinstall of the grub bootloader will get you back in order. Check the instructions here:

    Reinstall grub2 from LiveCD - Linux Mint Community

    If you are unsure, just boot up the Live DVD post back here with details about the disks in your system, as it stand. for starters:

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    148
    Please post the specs of you PC so we can see if its a hardware issue that would help a lot and welcome the Linux Forums and to the world of Linux

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    8
    This is what I got...

    mint@mint ~ $ sudo fdisk -1
    fdisk: invalid option -- '1'
    Usage:
    fdisk [options] <disk> change partition table
    fdisk [options] -l <disk> list partition table(s)
    fdisk -s <partition> give partition size(s) in blocks

    Options:
    -b <size> sector size (512, 1024, 2048 or 4096)
    -c[=<mode>] compatible mode: 'dos' or 'nondos' (default)
    -h print this help text
    -u[=<unit>] display units: 'cylinders' or 'sectors' (default)
    -v print program version
    -C <number> specify the number of cylinders
    -H <number> specify the number of heads
    -S <number> specify the number of sectors per track

    mint@mint ~ $

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    8
    I think I messed up the partition resisizing. May have to re-install. I'll post partition specs as soon as I can. Processor is pentium dual core e 5300 2.6 ghz

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •