Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I am new to Linux and think that it is really great. The only problem that I am having right now is that in order to get the volume ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Volume needs to be maxed in order to work

Hello,

I am new to Linux and think that it is really great. The only problem that I am having right now is that in order to get the volume to work I have to have it nearly maxed out. If I have it down below like 80% it is silent.

I am running Mint 14 Nadia on a HP Pavilion lap top. It is dual booted with Vista.

Hope I can get some help on this. If I can give more information to help solve the problem, just let me know.

Thanks.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Quote Originally Posted by five_pedals View Post
    Hello,

I am new to Linux and think that it is really great. The only problem that I am having right now is that in order to get the volume to work I have to have it nearly maxed out. If I have it down below like 80% it is silent.

I am running Mint 14 Nadia on a HP Pavilion lap top. It is dual booted with Vista.

Hope I can get some help on this. If I can give more information to help solve the problem, just let me know.

Thanks.
    Open a console/terminal window and run the alsamixer command. Then go over to the PCM entry with the right cursor key and set PCM to max. The first bar is "Master" which is what gets set when you use the normal GUI to set volume. So, set Master to the middle of its range, and max out PCM (which is the hardware control). Now you should be able to get some reasonable control over your volume through the usual GUI.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Or the volume icon in the system tray. It defaulted to a mere 38% on my systems