Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been using mint, since volume 7, and linux since 2005, and I have never seen a printer make such a fuss. i currently am using mint 12 and i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

samsung printer problem !

I've been using mint, since volume 7, and linux since 2005, and I have never seen a printer make such a fuss. i currently am using mint 12 and i just bought a samsung ml 2545 printer, no matter what i try, it says error, use the proper driver. I'm stumped. do samsung printers just not work with linux at all ? I would have thought in 2013, any printer would. thanks for any advice.

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello

Looking at the openprinting.org website, your printer is not listed, but if it's a very new model maybe it hasn't been added yet:

Printers by Manufacturer | OpenPrinting - The Linux Foundation

I noticed on the listing that the 2550 is reported to work "perfectly", so if your drivers don't work, you could try those for the 2550 or some other closely related model. If your printer uses a PPD file, and you have access to that file either on an included disk with the printer or by download, you could try to set it up using the same instructions that I posted for another Samsung printer user earlier today:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/sus...tml#post920464

My own printers always get setup by that method and they work every time, or at least they have so far.
    oz

Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Samsung provide a Linux driver here
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

Grandpa Simpson

The Fifth Continent

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Newbie