Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I am a complete newb with Linux. I just booted up Linux for the very first time last night. I am really considering converting (from windows) because every thing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Screen Resolution

Hello,

I am a complete newb with Linux. I just booted up Linux for the very first time last night.

I am really considering converting (from windows) because every thing worked very well and seemed to run smoother and faster.

My situation is that I use this computer as a video hub on my family room tv. We watch Tv shows online, and use it for casual browsing. We currently have a 42" screen and sit about 8' from the screen. It is a 1080p newer Tv.

What I did in windows, which seems okay was set the resolution to 1440x900. This made the start bar, the icons and all the text in general, large enough to read. I still use the zoom feature on most web pages.

When I was changing the resolution of the screen on Mint Cinnamon, I only had a few options. I didn't write down what they were, but the standard one was 1080 x something and was the correct proportion but small. None of the other resolutions were proportioned correctly.

Is there a way to add more resolution settings to Linux Mint Cinnamon?

Thanks

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    How did you try to change the resolution? Depending upon the chip set and driver, Linux can handle just about any resolution, including so-called "retina" displays. My system runs dual 1920x1200 displays. It has an nVidia display adapter.

That said, you may need to reconfigure your /etc/X11/xorg.conf settings. Not simple, but not impossible. Read the xorg.conf man page: man xorg.conf
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Trusted Penguin