Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi7 3770kello I don't know what it is but my update manager is messed up. I run the update then it says coulden't get to some of the repositories. And ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    148

    Update Messed up


    Hi7 3770kello I don't know what it is but my update manager is messed up. I run the update then it says coulden't get to some of the repositories. And then the little shield that has the check mark has an x in it. I have check the internet connection and i have internet so I don't know why it cant find the repositories
    I don't know how linux updates work yet.

  2. #2
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,482
    It happens sometimes. There may be a problem with the repository server or it may just be very busy. Give it a few hours and try again. It's very disconcerting the first few times it happens though
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    148
    Hey sorry for the late reply I was away for a few days anyway um. I have tried many times to update and re-run it but it keeps saying it can't find some of the repositories and won't update thanks for the reply

  4. #4
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,997
    It wouldn't hurt to post error messages and the output from terminal

    Code:
    inxi -r
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  5. #5
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,482
    Can you also post the contents of /etc/apt/sources.list as well as any files in /etc/apt/sources.list.d
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    148
    Ok here is my sources.list

    Code:
    deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ nadia main upstream import
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ quantal main restricted universe multiverse
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ quantal-updates main restricted universe multiverse
    deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ quantal-security main restricted universe multiverse
    deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ quantal partner
    deb http://packages.medibuntu.org/ quantal free non-free
    
    # deb http://archive.getdeb.net/ubuntu quantal-getdeb apps
    # deb http://archive.getdeb.net/ubuntu quantal-getdeb games
    Here is sources.list.d

    Screenshot from 2013-04-14 09:45:26.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,482
    I haven't forgotten thins but I won't be at my desktop until tomorrow. That has a Mint VM so I can check your sources.list. From what i can remember though it looks OK. The screen shots are pretty much unreadable so I have no idea what's in your sources.list.d

    As rokytnji said, it would also be helpful to have the error message you get when updating.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  8. #8
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,482
    Your sources.list matches mine exactly and I have just run a successful update. I only have one file in sources.list.d called local-repository.list which contains a single commented out line. I'm guessing that you have added a few ppa's hence all the files in sources.list.d and that the error is related to one of them.

    Without seeing the actual error message, I'm afraid there is not much more I can do...
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  9. #9
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,997
    Yeah elija. If inxi -r would have been ran. It would have shown all active/enabled ppa's used ub Mint.
    Try it in VM.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  10. #10
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,482
    I guess I can still learn something every day.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •