Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hey guys again I have yet another question. How to I get conky to open on start-up? I have look in the .conkyrc file and I can't figure out what ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    148

    Conky on start-up?


    Hey guys again I have yet another question. How to I get conky to open on start-up? I have look in the .conkyrc file and I can't figure out what makes it open on start-up. Is there a way for it to open on start-up?


  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Hi,

    i'm not sure how Mint controls the startup of Desktop apps, but in GNOME there is usually a setting under Sessions that controls that. you should be able to add a new application to start up there. i'm not at a GNOME-based machine now so i can't verify that.

    however, i use a legacy method that still works on modern systems: the ~/.xsession file. The login display manager (GDM, etc.) executes it, if found. for example, i could have something like this:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    [ -f ~/.Xresources ] && xrdb -merge ~/.Xresources
    vncconfig -iconic &
    gnome-terminal&
    conky&
    exec gnome-session
    Make sure it is executable. then log out and log in and see if it works. Mint may not honor it, not sure.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,997
    post

    Code:
    inxi -b
    so members can see what mint version.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    148
    Ok here is what came up rokytnji sorry for the late reply

    Code:
    System:    Host: awesomepilot-HP-G42-Notebook-PC Kernel: 3.5.0-17-generic x86_64 (64 bit) 
               Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
    Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP ProBook 4530s version: A0001D02
               Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 167C version: KBC Version 22.21
               Bios: Hewlett-Packard version: 68SRR Ver. F.20 date: 10/11/2011
    CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-2410M CPU (-HT-MCP-) clocked at 800.00 MHz 
    Graphics:  Card: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller 
               X.Org: 1.13.0 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@59.6hz 
               GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 9.0.3
    Network:   Card-1: Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k 
               Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169 
    Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (1.0% used)
    Info:      Processes: 224 Uptime: 1:47 Memory: 612.7/7920.9MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    148
    why does it say duel core i5 processor the i5 is a 4 core processor.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    218
    Menu > Control Center > Startup Applications... click on 'Add' and add 'conky' in the Command textbox. To point to the .conkyrc config file in /home, add something like this:

    Code:
     conky -c ~/.conkyrc &

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •