Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
Hi, one problem generated another, hence this thread: I downloaded the DVD mint 15 64, and all went well with the check-sum and I used some prog. in Linux to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    47

    200G Unusable free disk space, with win7 but no grub boot, long story!


    Hi, one problem generated another, hence this thread:

    I downloaded the DVD mint 15 64, and all went well with the check-sum and I used some prog.
    in Linux to burn it

    well here's what happened, I wanted to add some space for the mint 15, so I

    went into windows Disk Management and diminished the win 7 volume

    that gave me about 150 g + 50g from the old mint 14,

    then I did something that I probably never should have done:

    I plugged in my parted magic DVD, and deleted the mint, just like that!

    (I forgot that windows was now depending on the Linux boot, or whatever, now there is a GRUB message popping up)

    so I tried to fix it, by installing the mint 15 on the now 200gigs free space

    so far so good, following a guide I started by taking 30720 bytes from the unallocated space

    primary, slash forward root, beginning of drive space, ext4

    still ok, went like a charm, but now the rest of the 170000 bytes configures like Unusable

    which makes it impossible to continue!?!

    Now what, any solution to that?

    Thanks,



    Wrenchman
    Last edited by Wrenchman; 06-09-2013 at 05:38 PM. Reason: Should have been posted in Installation, sorry about that, please move.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,042
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    output might help, the -l has a small L.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    Posting the fdisk output as suggested above would be a good first step.

    I plugged in my parted magic DVD, and deleted the mint, just like that!
    Since you were booting both windows and the previous Mint with Grub and almost all Grub files needed to boot were on the Mint partition, you have rendered the machine unbootable as you found out. I'm not sure where the 30270 bytes are coming from and why you didn't use the 200GB of free space you have. Posting the partition information requested might help someone to help you.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    47
    sudo fdisk -l
    PHP Code:
    Disk /dev/sda500.1 GB500107862016 bytes
    255 heads
    63 sectors/track60801 cylinderstotal 976773168 sectors
    Units 
    sectors of 1 512 512 bytes
    Sector size 
    (logical/physical): 512 bytes 512 bytes
    I
    /O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes 512 bytes
    Disk identifier
    0xe60795cf

       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *        2048     1026047      512000    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2         1026048    37890047    18432000    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda3        37890048   537604095   249857024    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

    Disk 
    /dev/sdf3965 MB3965190144 bytes
    49 heads
    48 sectors/track3292 cylinderstotal 7744512 sectors
    Units 
    sectors of 1 512 512 bytes
    Sector size 
    (logical/physical): 512 bytes 512 bytes
    I
    /O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes 512 bytes
    Disk identifier
    0x00000000

       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdf1            8192     7744511     3868160    b  W95 FAT32 
    I was looking at howtogeek and found this, sounds interesting.
    PHP Code:
    Formatting a Partition

    You must format 
    new partitions with a file system before you can use
    themYou can do this with the appropriate mkfs command.
    For 
    examplethis command formats the fifth partition on the first disk
    with the ext4 file system
    .

        
    sudo mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda5 
    Thanks,



    Wrenchman

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    You have three windows partitions are your 500GB drive and no Linux. During the installation of Linux Mint, you should see an Installation Type window where you can select free or unallocated space to create a new partition or new partitions. Click on free/unallocated space in the main window, click the Add tab below and set the size, filesystem type and mount point for each partition. Also click the Format box. If you want multiple partitions, make sure you pay attention to the size of the partition in the Edito partition window. The default for Device for bootloader installation should be "/dev/sda" which should be unchanged. If the install is successful, you should be able to boot Mint and windows. You won't need to use the mkfs.ext4 command as this will be done in the Edit partition window mentioned above.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    47
    Hi again

    I have successfully installed mint 15

    but:

    I used all the free space for the primary partition ext4

    Then I was warned that there was no Swap space

    but I chose to continue.

    I'm still on the live DVD, so I'm going to try and restart

    wish me luck

    Thanks,



    Wrenchman

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    47
    I have now restarted the computer and the bootloader went back to normal.

    I have installed Mint 15 86x64 Cinnamon v. 1.8.6

    The first thing I noticed was that the Windows key works

    But what about SWAP, maybe I'll have to reinstall.

    Pls. comment and help.

    Thanks,



    Wrenchman

  8. #8
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,036
    But what about swap
    Wrenchman.

    Code:
    $ sudo blkid
    [sudo] password for harry: 
    /dev/sda1: LABEL="SYSTEM" UUID="B07058A970587854" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda2: UUID="F4E634D9E6349E34" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda5: LABEL="/home" UUID="deb0fadd-60a4-4660-9af1-a0c7892a0438" UUID_SUB="12e75001-5996-4370-b976-f1fe0ffd69e9" TYPE="btrfs" 
    /dev/sda6: LABEL="/" UUID="b57a73a8-c97a-427e-98a0-8ad5c7da308f" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda7: UUID="17d746a7-7e71-47f6-bc70-dbcba98f66f6" TYPE="swap"
    Things like that, or fsdik -l need to be included in your posts when you say that. I thought I learned you better than that.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    47
    PHP Code:
    /dev/sda1LABEL="system" UUID="98FA0773FA074D46" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda2LABEL="recovery" UUID="A444089844086F7C" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda3LABEL="windows" UUID="FC7609F47609B106" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda4UUID="3e0b07d7-621a-4e84-b905-9dc644a96ffa" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sr1LABEL="ZTEMODEM" TYPE="iso9660" 
    Here you go Boss!

    Is it yet possible to add /swap and or other /folders?



    Wrenchman

  10. #10
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,036
    Live cd

    Using GParted to Resize Your Windows 7 or Vista Partition

    Make a swap partition

    If Me

    start ? Parted Magic

    I keep that iso on hand like a wrench in a toolbox. I put it on uSB with Unetbootin and use it instead of Mint. Why? Because Mint live DVD did not come with Gparted.
    At least mine did not. All mine had was Disk Usage Analyzer.

    http://partedmagic.com/doku.php?id=using_gparted
    Don't touch the Windows Partitions with Parted Magic to make the swap. Touch the Mint partition. Then no need for a reinstall.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •