Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok , I think I have the driver from the brothers site in my home directory how/where do I put it so the printer can find it, does it have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Drivers install for brothers mfc-j430w

Ok , I think I have the driver from the brothers site in my home directory how/where do I put it so the printer can find it, does it have to be in a certain file, or do I load it into the printer somehow. I'm lost any help would be appreciated.

Just Joined!
    I am not an expert but most time you do not need to install drivers to get your printer to work. Most times it is just plug and play try this...
    Just plug in your printer (and have it on) and restart your computer and it should work without having to install the drivers for it.

What is meant by "I think I have the driver from the brothers site in my home directory"? Either you do or you don't.

Did you check for the drivers in the Downloads folder?

Which drivers do you have? What are the extensions?

Did you SEE THIS?

Did you look for the drivers in the repository, I believe you use the same as Ubuntu, your drivers should be there?

Some instructions at Brother Drivers for Linux® distributions.

Did you try the Plug-N-Play as mentioned by reese.mitchell?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

The MFC j430w cupswrapper Deb 3.0.0-1 i 386

There is no driver in my driver list that came with Mint 15 but I've downloaded it from brothers, Is there some kind of loader or installer that I can use , my command line work is weak. I haven't tried plug and play because the printer will be delivered today. I'm just trying to get a footing on what is needed.

Quote Originally Posted by slw210 View Post
    What is meant by "I think I have the driver from the brothers site in my home directory"? Either you do or you don't.

Did you check for the drivers in the Downloads folder?