Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I posted this on the Mint forums, and other than my own reply reiterating my need, didn't get a single reply. I'm posting here as a last try before clearing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Distorted Sound

I posted this on the Mint forums, and other than my own reply reiterating my need, didn't get a single reply. I'm posting here as a last try before clearing Mint and installing Ubuntu.

Computer is an old Dell Inspiron 9400 running Mint 14 Cinnamon (I think). When playing MP3s or streaming movies, the sound is distorted. Voices are understandable, but garbled. Prior to converting the laptop to Linux-only, it was running Windows Vista, and one of its primary uses was for movies. There was never a problem with sound quality.

I'm not very experienced with Linux, so not sure where to find system info, but checked System Settings/Multimedia/Phonon and found the sound listed as Built-in Audio Analog Stereo. The Sound Card is shown as Built-in Audio and the default Profile is Analog Stereo Duplex. The Backend was set to GStreamer but I switched it to VLC since I am a little bit familiar with that from Windows, but there wasn't any difference in sound quality.

I searched the forums on "sound distortion" but while others are experiencing problems, didn't find any help there.

Are there different Linux drivers for sound, and if so, would a different one be better, or would there likely be no difference?

Since my primary use of this Linux system is for music and movies (front end for streaming online movies to my flat panel TV), fixing the sound quality is essential.

I realize that it could be a hardware problem, though since it worked fine under Windows Vista, that seems unlikely.

If you need additional system information, please tell me where to find it.

Thanks!
    Optiker

Linux User