Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, I am new to Linux, and therefore don't know masses about what to do where etc... Anyway, I've got mint 15 running on a Dell Latitude D630, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mint 15 was working fine, but now every time I boot up without the dis

Hi there,

I am new to Linux, and therefore don't know masses about what to do where etc...

Anyway, I've got mint 15 running on a Dell Latitude D630, and up until yesterday it was running fine. Now if I bo ot up the laptop without the disk it brings up the initramfs on the black screen. If I boot up with the disk I can get to my desktop but none of my files or programmes are there anymore. I can't open my hard drive at all, and it says "unable to mount location" (I've attached a photo of the error message below)

I've tried to research this problem a bit, and I am able to open Terminal, and have tried to input commands that I've come across online (to try and find out the location of the superblock and change it) but nothing seems to work. I am a bit worried as I have got work and media stored on the partition. If anyone is able to help or make a suggestion then that would be fantastic.

Thank you very much in advance.

Stuart
    Attached Images Attached Images

Linux Guru
    What disk are you referring to? The disk you used to install Mint? If you installed the Mint bootloader to the mbr of the disk, there is no reason you would need the disk.
    The image you posted indicates a mount error, you were trying to mount a filesystem as ext4 and it is not, at least not on sda2.

Since you haven't indicated that anything else is on the computer, you might try reinstalling again and make sure you install the bootloader to the mbr.

If I boot up with the disk I can get to my desktop but none of my files or programmes are there anymore