Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, I was (foolishly) messing around with my partition sizes, now whenever I turn on my computer I get the error message in the title. I'm very new to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Error unknown filesystem. grub rescue

Hi there, I was (foolishly) messing around with my partition sizes, now whenever I turn on my computer I get the error message in the title.

I'm very new to Linux, but I knew that if I typed in 'ls' it would come up with all my partitions and then I could type in ls (hdx,y) and some other stuff afterwards and it would boot from that partition. Unfortunately whatever partition I try, I always get 'error unknown filesystem'

What do I do?

Thanks

Linux Guru
    You haven't given enough information for anyone to help you. First off, what does 'messing around with my partitions' mean. Deleting partitions, adding partitions, resizing partitions? You're posting under the Mint heading so we assume you are using Mint, correct? You have not indicated if you have any other operating system(s), do you? If so, what are they? Mint uses the Grub bootloader. Are you using it to boot Mint and any other systems you may have? To actually be of any help to you, we would need to see your boot file, in Mint that would be the grub.cfg file which is in the /boot/grub directory and also your partition information.