Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to Linux. I have been able to successfully create Linux-Mint 16 on boot cd, Linux-mint 16 boot on USB flash and Precise Puppy boot on CD. All ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Mint won't boot to PC

I am new to Linux. I have been able to successfully create Linux-Mint 16 on boot cd, Linux-mint 16 boot on USB flash and Precise Puppy boot on CD. All of these work perfectly on my HP Intel I7 laptop. ONLY Precise Puppy will work on my Desktop (AMD quad-core). I tried all of these on a friend's Intel PC and they worked fine.

Linux mint just gives me a bunch of text on my desktop. I've attached one of the screens for reference.
    Is it the processor that makes the difference ??
    Attached Images Attached Images

It would help to give minimal hardware specs (make and model, cpu, RAM installed, graphics card and/or chipset info) so recommendations could be made,
    "What you think about me is none of my business"

Just Joined!

Some specs

Thanks for your response;
    AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core processor, 8GB ram, 64 bit.

Graphics card is AMD Radeon HD5700 series

I did notice that there is another graphics card in Device Manager but it has been disabled (in device manager). I was wondering if Linux is going to that card instead.

Just Joined!
    When you downloaded the distros did you check against the MD5 sum that they weren't corrupted?

Just Joined!
    Yes. I also loaded them onto two other PC's.

With strace showing in error. It makes me think kernel panic.

Try

Code:
    radeon.modeset=0
    as boot cheat code. Google it if you don't know Mint boot cheat codes.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Just Joined!
    Thanks rokytnji,