Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    1,635

    Upgrade to Mint 18.1


    How to upgrade from 18 to 18.1 using CLI? I had a look at Mint documentation, but couldn't find any pointers.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    1,635
    I have learned Mint is not a distro you want to support remotely. Never expected there is a Linux that cannot be managed over SSH.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    From the Linux Mint home page comments.
    Code:
    Edson says: 
    December 20th, 2016 at 2:57 am
    Hello. How can I up date my lunux mint 64bits using the terminal?
    
    Edit by Clem: You can’t perform the same upgrade from the terminal, but you can “fully” upgrade it using APT. You first replace all occurences of sarah with serena in /etc/apt/sources.list and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/*, then refresh the cache with “apt update”, then perform a full upgrade with “apt dist-upgrade”. Be aware that this will do more than just upgrade you to 18.1 though, it will apply all available updates as well, including kernel changes.
    What happens if you do "mintupdate" from command line?
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    1,635
    Hey, thanks! I was digging into Mint documentation and even asked it on Mint IRC channel, no cigar. I tried mintupdate a few days ago, I think it wants to run GUI applet, it gave me DISPLAY error.

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    13,887
    If you are connecting with SSH, by default you won't get a valid DISPLAY variable. You need to use the -X option to ssh so that it will pass through X-Windows display calls to your system (assuming you are running a X-Windows GUI) and give you a proper DISPLAY id.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    1,635
    Yes, but this is not the point, I do not want to run any GUI applets.

  8. #7
    i saw it somewhere - while mint is using apt which can be operated safely from the command line, it builds its own update mechanism on top of that, with color codes for how safe an update is.
    this you cannot execute from the command line, afaik.
    if you use the normal apt way, it is akin to updating ALL packages regrdless of their color codes.
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    1,635
    Well, it didn't upgrade from 18 to 18.1.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    13,887
    Well, I will probably upgrade to 18.1 sometime in the future. For right now, 18 is working well for me. Is there a particular reason why you want/need 18.1?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  11. #10
    Linux Guru Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    1,635
    No, this thread is more about Mint remote management via SSH. It is irrelevant what kind of administration has to be done.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •