Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

linux mint cinnamon

Hi,
    Newbie here , please stay with me even for stupid?? Q's, green as grass here.
    Am not a comp expert, far from it but trying to learn. at 79
    I want to try linux mint cinnamon on a usb drive 16gb.
    Have win 7 pro on my comp, using linux live usb creator tried to download cinnamon 18.2 but linux live downloaded Mate !
    Went through linux live and put files on my usb drive.
    Q 1 -Did that automaticly burn the iso file on my usb drive ?
    or is that a seperate operation ?

Q 2- may depend on above, Changed bios boot to USB drive
    but still booted up in windows. Then booted up again pressing F12, instructed to boot up from usb, saved
    turned off comp and booted up again and again booted up windows.
    This makes me think that linux live saved file on my usb drive but did not burn iso file ? am I right in my assumption !
    Many thanks for any advice.
    enigma.

I am not familar with linux live, if it wont boot into the live usb it probably did not burn it as .iso. Please check the file you want. Mint is at version 18.1 not 18.2. Also you should check the sha256sum for the iso before you burn. Might be a bad iso file.

Go to the mint website, download the file you want and save it on your computer. find the sha256sum file as well. right click on sha256sum.txt and save link as.. In windows 7 you will have to find and download a sha256sum file checker program. Google is your friend. Or try linux live again. Need more help just ask and dont give up, you are having fun.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the reply prsman. Noted re 18.1. Have a couple programs for usb, one only went to 17.1 and the other could not see the usb drive.
    From what you said, not as easy as abc ,m I was un the impression that an iso file had to be burned but no mention of sha256sum file.