Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Questions Re Linux Mint Cinnamon Current Update

Hi, I'm new to Linux, but definitely not PC's. I'm having several issues I'm hoping the community can help me out with.

1. My laptop is a touchscreen, and I use a secondary HDMI non-touchscreen monitor. Every single time I reboot, touching the laptop screen points the mouse position on the other monitor. To fix/calibrate it, I have to type "xinput", "xrandr" to get my video display ID, then the output which keeps changing each reboot, then type in, "xinput map-to-output 13 eDP1" (the 'eDP1' changes each reboot). How can I get Linux to permanently remember this so I don't have to keep typing it each time I reboot my system?

2. So #1 brings up the question, why does it matter if your touchscreen is working if you have a mouse? I'm glad you asked... Since I've been switching OS on this dual-boot system, every time I switch OS, I have to (re)pair my Bluetooth mouse again, which is super frustrating when... that is my ONLY mouse, so getting to the Bluetooth icon each time in both OS is rage inducing... Especially when the mouse cursor on the touchscreen is so mis-calibrated! These two issues alone are almost enough to erase Linux, lol! Not really, but it is frustrating. Is there anyway to permanently save the paired mouse in ->both<- OS?

3. I'm sure this is simple to find, and honestly I haven't had much time to do the research on this so forgive me for asking such as trivial question, but how can I view my partition size and health, i.e. data usage? And how can I defrag with Linux? And install fonts?

4. Finally, I'm having issues with Firefox in Linux. It won't load some sites, such as AT&T, even with all my add-ons turned off. Using the exact same setup in W10 with the same Firefox profile, no issues. This one is pretty major if I'm to make the full switch over to Linux.