Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

No Sound - No Password

I'm brand new to Linux, just having installed Mint Cinnamon Sylvia a few days ago. I was really hoping everything went smoothly as I have a lot to learn as all my previous computer experience is pushing buttons and selecting items from menus. The installation went fine. However...no sound. This eliminates my possibility of getting help from YouTube. I searched online and found different answers for this issue and am a little hesitant to proceed.

I'm not on that computer right now. I tried the driver manager and it offers two options for intel drivers. This is a Lenovo Thinkpad laptop. I saw some instructions for some console input, "sudo alsa force-reload," and I get asked for a password. I enter the only password I gave to install it, and the password fails.

The layout for the system looks great and I'm anxious to jump in, but...

Is there an easy way to update ALL the drivers?

Thanks.

Yes and no. Normally all drivers are part of Linux kernel, so when kernel is upgraded all drivers are upgraded as well.
    However. There are corner cases when quirky hardware requires additional setup. For instance, I think I read somewhere Lenovo sound may need additional parameters passed to the existing driver. You may find a tutorial and more info on Thinkpad forums, they have a subforum dedicated to Linux.

Thinkpad forum

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by GTRRO View Post
    I saw some instructions for some console input, "sudo alsa force-reload," and I get asked for a password. I enter the only password I gave to install it, and the password fails.
    HOW does it fail?
    on a linux console, you don't get visual feedback when entering the password.
    a succesful command often doesn't output anything.

it's best if you copy-paste the terminal output here.
    use code tags for code.