Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
are you using bridge?if so change to NAT....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3

    are you using bridge?if so change to NAT.

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Infact, looking at my configuration, I believe Linux has the drivers installed as XP is using "VMware Accelerated AMD PCNet Adapter" as the network card so the divers for your actual network card wont be relevent.
    Linux User #453176

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    75
    John: I've got no idea on what.. Since Windows won't detect any drivers not any network connections.. Ipconfig is dead and shows nothing in the cmd console.

    Kieren: Windows Update is kinda useless if you don't got internet =)

  4. #14
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Doh! That was a stupid suggestion :S

    How about setting up a new network connection? Does the wizard find the VMWare newtork card?
    Linux User #453176

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    75
    Kieren: In the Device Manager it does find one ethernet device. nForce4 and I'm having problems installing the damm driver, it just won't work. Not with my gForce 6600LE card either

    John ryder:
    #!/usr/bin/vmware
    config.version = "8"
    virtualHW.version = "3"
    memsize = "512"
    MemAllowAutoScaleDown = "FALSE"

    ide0:0.present = "TRUE"
    ide0:0.filename = "20GB.vmdk"
    ide1:0.present = "TRUE"
    ide1:0.fileName = "windows.iso"
    ide1:0.deviceType = "cdrom-image"
    ide1:0.autodetect = "TRUE"
    ide1:0.startConnected = "TRUE"

    floppy0.fileType = "file"
    floppy0.fileName = "cdboot1.img"
    floppy0.startConnected = "FALSE"

    usb.present = "TRUE"
    usb.autoConnect.device0 = ""

    sound.present = "TRUE"
    sound.virtualDev = "es1371"

    displayName = "Windows XP Pro"
    guestOS = "winxppro"
    nvram = "WindowsXPPro.nvram"
    MemTrimRate = "-1"
    ide0:0.redo = ""

    ethernet0.present = "TRUE"
    ethernet0.virtualdev = "vmxnet"
    ethernet0.addressType = "generated"
    ethernet0.generatedAddress = "00:0c:29:97:14:27"
    ethernet0.generatedAddressOffset = "0"
    ethernet0.connectionType = "nat"

    tools.syncTime = "TRUE"
    checkpoint.vmState = ""
    tools.remindInstall = "TRUE"


    uuid.action = "create"
    uuid.location = "56 4d 2f b3 92 30 32 fa-a6 b4 7f 1f a7 97 14 27"
    uuid.bios = "56 4d 2f b3 92 30 32 fa-a6 b4 7f 1f a7 97 14 27"

    the uuid.* are copied from another document so i'm not sure on what that is either.

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Because you are running VMWare from Linux, Linux is in charge of your hardware. To allow another operating system (Windows) take control of the hardware (Your network card) will cause lots of conflict problems. Because of this VMWare gives Windows a mock network card so it wont appear to windows as a nForce4 device. For instance, mine appears as VMware Accelerated AMD PCNet Adapter. This is why you are having a problem installing the drivers.

    Try right clicking on the Ethernet button and choosing "Bridged" as the connection. That is what mine is set as...
    Linux User #453176

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    75
    Tried, I'm installing windowsXP instead since this is getting lame on all aspects now =)

    tnx for the help dub, appriciated

    -Juuka

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •