Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
I've managed to get up one vmware for WindowsXP and here is the config file i've udes. It's copied from an web page #!/usr/bin/vmware config.version = "8" virtualHW.version = "3" ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    75

    vmware-player and WindowsXP no internet


    I've managed to get up one vmware for WindowsXP and here is the config file i've udes. It's copied from an web page
    #!/usr/bin/vmware
    config.version = "8"
    virtualHW.version = "3"
    ide0:0.present = "TRUE"
    ide0:0.filename = "20GB.vmdk"
    memsize = "512"
    MemAllowAutoScaleDown = "FALSE"
    ide1:0.present = "TRUE"
    ide1:0.fileName = "windows.iso"
    ide1:0.deviceType = "cdrom-image"
    ide1:0.autodetect = "TRUE"
    floppy0.fileType = "file"
    floppy0.fileName = "cdboot1.img"
    floppy0.startConnected = "True"
    ethernet0.present = "TRUE"
    usb.present = "TRUE"
    sound.present = "TRUE"
    sound.virtualDev = "es1371"
    displayName = "Windows XP Pro"
    guestOS = "winxppro"
    nvram = "WindowsXPPro.nvram"
    MemTrimRate = "-1"
    ide0:0.redo = ""
    ethernet0.addressType = "generated"
    uuid.location = "56 4d 2f b3 92 30 32 fa-a6 b4 7f 1f a7 97 14 27"
    uuid.bios = "56 4d 2f b3 92 30 32 fa-a6 b4 7f 1f a7 97 14 27"
    ethernet0.generatedAddress = "00:0c:29:97:14:27"
    ethernet0.generatedAddressOffset = "0"
    tools.syncTime = "TRUE"
    ide1:0.startConnected = "TRUE"
    uuid.action = "create"
    checkpoint.vmState = ""
    tools.remindInstall = "TRUE"

    usb.autoConnect.device0 = "path:3/0 autoclean:1"
    I cannot get internet to work and I don't know exactly how to fix it.. any dieas and how to check out things ?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    At the top of VMWare where there is a menu to minimise, maximise and other items, make sure the Ethernet button is clicked
    Linux User #453176

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    75
    yeah mate it has gone on and off like a bunny on the duracell battery... no luck there and no error messages is popping up either.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    So it wont stay selected? That is what allows the OS installed on VMWare use the network
    Linux User #453176

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    75
    I ment to say, that I've been pressing that button on and off in a hope that something would happend... It stays selected in that state I want it to be.
    It's just that in the command promt under Ipconfig I cannot see any connections or network lines going out nor in.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Okay, well that button needs to be selected for it to work.

    Next make sure that XP network connections are set up correctly. (DHCP for instance)
    Linux User #453176

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    75
    The button is selected
    and for the network, it won't et detected and the drivers won't be installed. nforce and the geforce drivers won't get updated.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    75
    I've posted a new thread also, it's here VMware Communities: No Internet Connection, ...

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3

    Network

    are you using bridge?

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    I'll take it you have tried a Window's update to install the drivers for your network card? What about downloading them from the manufacturers website and installing them?
    Linux User #453176

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •