Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm wanting to set-up my old computer as a dual-purpose machine. These purposes are 'media centre' and 'web server'. As a media centre, it'll play MP3s and videos (from the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which distro for a dual-purpose machine?

I'm wanting to set-up my old computer as a dual-purpose machine. These purposes are 'media centre' and 'web server'.

As a media centre, it'll play MP3s and videos (from the web, or the DVD drive) to my TV via the s-video out on my old ATI 9700 Pro.

As the web server, I want to use it for web projects (I'm a web developer, so my own dev server for showing stuff to clients would be nice) with passworded access. I'd also be using it as a secure access point into my local network via SSH, and might run some little virtual servers on there for the experience's sake (connected via DynDNS).

What I'm wondering is which distro would be best for me. I'd imagine that the hardest thing would be getting the various media bits and pieces set-up, as I've set-up apache before and that was OK (albeit without the virtual servers, but that doesn't look too hard). Is there any distribution that I might be better-off with for security reasons? I've been flaffing around for a bit trying various Live CDs, but now it's getting towards the right time to actually choose one and put the work in to set it up. I don't want to make the wrong choice and put that effort in twice, y'know?

The distribution that I'm looking at right now is the Ubuntu Media Centre edition, but that doesn't really seem to be quite ready yet. Any other suggestions?

Quote Originally Posted by lilt View Post
    What I'm wondering is which distro would be best for me. I'd imagine that the hardest thing would be getting the various media bits and pieces set-up...