Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, let me start by saying I'm a newbie. I installed RH 8.0, my system has two harddrives, I think. When I did a df -h this is the outcome ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

2 Hard drives, but boot is mounted on smaller drive

Ok, let me start by saying I'm a newbie.

I installed RH 8.0, my system has two harddrives, I think. When I did a df -h this is the outcome
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda2 36G 2.6G 31G 8% /
    /dev/hda1 99M 14M 79M 15% /boot
    none 251M 0 250M 0% /dev/shm

Being a newbie, my breakdown of this is that I have two harddrives 1-36GB drive, and one roughly 100M drive. The boot is mounted on the 100MB drive though. I thought I had my master as the larger one, but I could be wrong. A couple of questions, is there anyway to switch my boot to the other larger drive, and secondly how do I know where all my programs are installed under. I am a windows user so I was wondering how I know what is stalled on which drive. Or is Linux's file structure totally different from Windows in that sense, and that question doesn't really translate.

Basically, if I have 2 physical drives, how do I know which data is on which drive?ex

Just Joined!
    It doesnt say that you have two harddisks - only one, i.e. hda. If you have two harddisks there will be hda and hdb. The one that isnt shown (as hda) is swap partition.

Both /(root) and /boot partition are on the larger harddisk (36GB) = hda. (You should check what is inside your box)

If you install e.g. kopete.rpm and want to know where those files go just type:

rpm -ql kopete
    hint: /bin is the executable, but you can always call kopete to execute. Open menu editor and add the program shortcut/icon if it doesnt automatically create one for you.

If you want to see all rpm installed type:

rpm -qa