Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey everyone, I have recently been getting into VMware, running RHEL4 as the guest OS on VMware Workstation (running on my laptop). Currently, I run three RedHat boxes and one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question vmware SAN virtualization

Hey everyone,

I have recently been getting into VMware, running RHEL4 as the guest OS on VMware Workstation (running on my laptop). Currently, I run three RedHat boxes and one Solaris box all talking to each other within the virtual environment. I wanted to know if anyone knew what tools I could use to virtualize a SAN storage for my growing network.

What release/product of VMware supports this (for use in a windows, laptop environment)? Is there maybe a "how-to" out there on how to set up a virtual SAN?

I have never used SAN before and needed to be guided in the right direction.

~NB

get iscsi-target

Just Joined!
    What is the link you provided? Is iscsi-target available on that site? Thanks for the quick reply by the way!!

~NB

Linux Guru
    A SAN is just a big SCSI bus with lots of initiators and targets (to explain it simply.) Fiber channel just encapsulates SCSI commands. The targets are devices that receive commands (tape drives, disk drives, disk arrays, etc.) and initiators are the devices sending commands (mainly fiber HBA's.)

VMWare Workstation/Server has no ability to "virtualize" a SAN (altho the next release of ESX may have support for adding HBA's to the virtual machines.) To any OS, a disk from the array on the SAN is just another disk to be accessed. So RH will just show a disk device under /proc/scsi/scsi. The part that VMWare can't do is add an "HBA" device that the RH VM sees as a fiber HBA.