Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
yep you guessed it im a noob. last night windows ticked me off for the last time so now im running mandrake 9.1. i have a bunch of questions but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

USB hard drive?

yep you guessed it im a noob. last night windows ticked me off for the last time so now im running mandrake 9.1. i have a bunch of questions but im going to try to figure them out for myself first, except one. i have a USB hard drive that has all my music and movies on it. i cant figure out how to access the drive. when i go to start->configuration->kde->information->USB
    it has a USB drive listed but i cant figure out how to access it. anyone have any suggestions?

thanks a lot,

Justin
    hit me up over messenger if you can.
    AIM: boomhower1820
    yahoo messenger: ou_phidelt

Linux Guru
    I'm sorry to tell you that, although USB Mass Storage devices are supported, there's no user-friendly way (especially no graphical interface) to use them.
    To use it, first run these commands:
    Code:
    modprobe sg
    modprobe sd_mod
    mkdir /mnt/usb
    Then run "fdisk -l /dev/sda" to see if the drive has a partition table. If it does, run "mount /dev/sda0 /mnt/usb", and if it doesn't, run "mount /dev/sda /mnt/usb". After that, the files will be accessible under /mnt/usb.

One more thing: If you're using NTFS on this drive, you won't be able to write to it under Linux.

Just Joined!
    thanks for the reply. it came back with two of them on the table. so i picked the sda that was fat 32 and it worked.(the other was Ext'd (LBA)) but i have two more questions that arouse. i am accessing it through the directory,if theirs another way id be more than happy to hear, all the folders are visible but the individual files are not. im thinking that it could be because the were two sda's. BTW they are almost all MP3's and movies.