Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I've been developing in PHP for a few years and I've noticed that a file that I created in vi editor using SSH on my linux server, when viewed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New line character in windows and linux

Hi,

I've been developing in PHP for a few years and I've noticed that a file that I created in vi editor using SSH on my linux server, when viewed with notepad wasnt displaying properly. I noticed the same thing happen in a few other instances. Why is that?

What is the ascii number of a new line character in windows and linux?

Raja Sekharan

scm
    Linux Engineer
    UNIX/Linux uses a newline character (\n, decimal 12) as a line terminator, Windoze uses carriage-return newline pairs (\r\n decimal 15, 12). You can use dos2unix and unix2dos to switch formats, but it's Windows that is out of step by using 2 characters as a line terminator instead of a more sensible single one, and since UNIX specified that character back in the early 70s, it can only be bloody-mindedness on Bill Gates' part that he deliberately chose to be incompatible.

Just Joined!
    Ok but, in notepad, atleast the '\n' should be rendered right? All i saw as a continuous wall of code with "box"y characters where the line breaks were supposed to be. When you try to delete those characters, notepad seems to misbehave.

Different editors handle this differently, with some seemingly able
    to handle both formats. There are lots of free replacements for
    notepad, and some of them may be better with line feeds.

For the historical record, the CR/LF two character line ending is
    the original ascii standard that predates both unix and microsoft,
    and it was unix that departed from the standard.

Linux Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by scm View Post