Find the answer to your Linux question:
One of the prerequisites for installing PHP is to have Freetype-devel installed. Every time I try to install this onto RedHat 8 Psyche, it tells me that Freetype is required. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trying to setup PHP/MySQL/Apache etc etc

One of the prerequisites for installing PHP is to have Freetype-devel installed. Every time I try to install this onto RedHat 8 Psyche, it tells me that Freetype is required. Freetype is already installed and if I do a "rpm -q freetype" it tells me the version and that it is installed. Yet when I then try to install the same version of Freetype-devel, it simply won't install. I am a beginner with Linux and so not sure of where to go from here.
    The load script I use at the command line is "rpm -i freetype-devel.x.x.x.rpm.
    Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Linux Guru
    Why would you want to install the same version that already is installed? If you're trying to upgrade, use -U instead of -i (the U is supposed to be uppercase).

Just Joined!
    What I am saying is if I do a "rpm -q freetype-devel" at the command line, it doesn't say that it IS installed. There is no indication that it is, so I am assuming that it is not. Freetype IS installed, just not freetype-devel. Each are the same version number (freetype-devel-2.1.2-7.i386.rpm and freetype-2.1.2-7)

Linux Guru
    Oh, I'm sorry, I overlooked that. How do you mean that "it simply won't install"? Doesn't anything happen at all? In that case, that's basically what's supposed to happen; if the installation is successful, nothing at all is printed. Did you check afterwards if it's installed? If you want verbose installation, run "rpm -ihv freetype-devel.rpm".

Just Joined!
    Well, I have freetype-2.1.2-7 installed. I know this because I type in rpm-q freetype and the response is that the aforementioned version is in fact installed.