Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
how to convert an mp3 from bitrate 192 kbps to 160?which program do i have to use?any help appreciated......
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169

    mp3 bitrate conversion


    how to convert an mp3 from bitrate 192 kbps to 160?which program do i have to use?any help appreciated...
    Linux For Ever!

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    www.syracuse.com
    Posts
    119
    the only way i know that this can be done is by putting them back into .wav and recompressing them into .mp3.

    i do not know of any method to just change the bit rate of an mp3. i doubt that one exists due to the nature of how .mp3 compression works. but since .mp3 is a lossy data file, the results from the method listed above will not produce ideal results.

    here is a personal website that someone set up with a mp3 faq that i found on teoma.com using mp3 and faq as a search criteria.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    You need "lame" (i'm not jokeing:)) .. it is quite easy to use.. install it and type "man lame" for info on what to do.

    --mp3input
    Assume the input file is a MP3 file.
    Usefull for downsampling from one mp3 to another. As an exam-
    ple, it can be usefull for streaming through an IceCast server.
    If the filename ends in ".mp3" LAME will assume it is an MP3.
    For stdin or MP3 files which do not end in .mp3 you need to use
    this switch.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    thanks for the post.i would like to convert my mp3's to a lower bitrate not by converting them to wav and then like i want.it will take me much time...i would like to do it as in musicmatch in windows..is there such a program for linux?
    Linux For Ever!

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    I think we posted at the same time there... see my post :)

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    ok variant!i'll download it and i will use it.thanks!
    i think that i saw lame somewhere in xmms...am i wrong?
    Linux For Ever!

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    I think you are probably wrong.. to see if you have lame simply type "lame" in a terminal and it will give you basic useage info.. man lame for more detail

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    when i type :man lame i get
    linux:~ # man lame
    No manual entry for lame
    do this need an installation?i will search in suse cd's using yast2
    Linux For Ever!

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    It looks like you do'nt have lame installed.. also you should avoid running as root ( i think you are correct?)

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    why shouldn't run as root?
    Linux For Ever!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •