Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
With the exception of things like Unreal Tournament, will the majority of Linux applications run fine on a 1ghz machine? One with plenty of ram that is....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Eastern U.S
    Posts
    23

    running applications on a 1ghz machine


    With the exception of things like Unreal Tournament, will the majority of Linux applications run fine on a 1ghz machine? One with plenty of ram that is.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    St.Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    201
    I have a 522 Mhz machine with 376 megs of mem. Everything runs great. It idles around 3% usage w/ X and 4 terms, gkrellm, xchat, and 3 IM progs.
    Powered by Gentoo
    never ever ever use the hardened option in make.conf!

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    as gwalters said you won't have problem to run applications in that machine..swap is helping to increase performance though..
    Linux For Ever!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    89
    Compiling a new kernel also increases speed and stability

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    it will surely will but it will take some more time to do so than in a newer pc which has more ram and better processor..
    Linux For Ever!

  6. #6
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    lol, i have a PIII 500 Mhz and only 256MB RAM and I get by just fine.

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    St.Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    201
    ..swap is helping to increase performance though..
    Bah, who needs swap? I dont even have a swap partition. Once i mounted a file as swap, it didnt get used at all.
    Powered by Gentoo
    never ever ever use the hardened option in make.conf!

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    it increases performance if ram of the system is low (swap should be approximately 2*ram)..although i didn't have problem either..(my ram is 1gb ddr 400)
    Linux For Ever!

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    89
    I have 1.5GB DDR 266

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    i think it's not very much..
    Linux For Ever!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •