Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have been using gentoo for a couple of years now, and before then, I've used both ubuntu and fedora core. The thing that I really like about gentoo is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Looking for a new distro to try

I have been using gentoo for a couple of years now, and before then, I've used both ubuntu and fedora core. The thing that I really like about gentoo is its package management because, unlike with apt and yum, portage's packages are all located in one tree and not spread out across multiple repositories. I also like the ability to customize my packages with USE flags. However, what I don't like about gentoo is having to spend so much compiling for small or unnoticeable performance gains.

Is there a distro that has package management similar to gentoo's minus the compiling from source?

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by hamburger123 View Post
    I have been using gentoo for a couple of years now, and before then, I've used both ubuntu and fedora core. The thing that I really like about gentoo is its package management because, unlike with apt and yum, portage's packages are all located in one tree and not spread out across multiple repositories. I also like the ability to customize my packages with USE flags. However, what I don't like about gentoo is having to spend so much compiling for small or unnoticeable performance gains.

Is there a distro that has package management similar to gentoo's minus the compiling from source?
    Maybe Arch.

Arch Linux

One good thing about arch is that it supports installation from source natively, even if it's mainly a binary distro.

ArchWiki :: ABS - The Arch Build System - ArchWiki

There's also vidalinux:

Home - vidalinux.org

It's based on Gentoo, and I think that it has binary repositories as well. I haven't tried it, though.