Find the answer to your Linux question:
A friend of mine who uses Fedora had an associate send him a .pdf file. The print was sent in italics. When he opens the file in Acroread, the fonts ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Acroread and html view of .pdf file different. Why?

A friend of mine who uses Fedora had an associate send him a .pdf file. The print was sent in italics. When he opens the file in Acroread, the fonts are not in italics, yet when it is opened in html view it IS in italics. I opened this same .pdf file in XP and the same thing occurs. In Adobe Reader the print is not in italics, yet in html view it is.

I have very little experience with the creation of .pdf files so could someone please explain to me what is going on here so I can explain it to him?

Thanks!
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

What's html view with regard to PDF docs? I hadn't heard of that before.

Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney View Post
    What's html view with regard to PDF docs? I hadn't heard of that before.
    When the .pdf is sent as an attachment over Gmail and you open the email in the web browser, (both Firefox and IE), you are given the choice (I presume by Gmail) to download it or open it it html view. In html view, he says it looks as it should with italicised letters. When downloaded and opened with Acroread, it does not appear as it should, the letters not being italicised. I did the same thing and can confirm the difference in appearance. What is confusing to me is how the very same .pdf file can appear differently in each. It's the same file.

Ah right, similar to in a Google search. Well as I understand it there are lots of tools for doing this and similar tricks for PDF but they are generally full of compromises. Try working on a document full of images!