Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Hi, I removed network settings from os with the intention of reinstalling them. However upon reboot I could not access the system. This is wierd for we had it set ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Can Not access OS


    Hi,

    I removed network settings from os with the intention of reinstalling them. However upon reboot I could not access the system. This is wierd for we had it set with no pas word and the password we had for it no longer works.

    I did the recovery mode edit kernel line gig. However when i reboot when i enter the username and pasword it just loops back to username, however if it is incorrect it tells me. I am very knew to linux, so if i am overlooking something very simple (which i think i am) thats why.

    thanks for your time,

    spaz

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    I think you have un-installed a few other packages on which X Server depends. Press Alt+Ctrl+F1 and log in as Regular user. Execute startx command and post exact error message here, if any.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Error Msg

    Hi Devils Casper,

    I hope this is what you wanted

    Fatal Server Error:
    Server is already active for display 0
    If this server is no longer running, remove /temp/ .XO-lock
    and start again.

    Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
    Xlib: Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 Key
    giving up.
    Xinit: unable to connect to x server
    Xinit: No such process (error 3): server error.
    tv@Sigmund:~$ syslogd: The file /ect/services does not seem to exist.
    syslogd: network logging disabled (syslog/upd service unknown).
    syslogd: see syslogd( for details of whether and how to enable it.: operation not permitted.

    cheers

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    The actual command that did the damage

    Hi there,

    I found the actual command that did the damage:

    sudo apt-get remove -- purge network -manager net-tools

    If that helps narrow things down.

    Spaz

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Are you logged in as root user?
    Have you tried to execute startx command as Regular user? Which Distro are you using?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Re:

    Yes i log into as main person sigmund and as tv and i get the same msg.

    The OS is Linux Mint Daryna

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop
    startx
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    re:

    Code executed:

    Responce: *stopping gnome display manager

    Um i restarted to try nothing new, but im aware you may be looking for something else.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Sorry:

    After reading your instructions again

    command

    then startx the os has appeared! Whoo hooo.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    My Source was not the best

    Ok

    The source that gave me the original command also gave me the command to turn back on the network tools.

    sudo apt-get remove --purge network-manager net-tools

    Then re-boot your system and re-install them again. Hopefully everything will have to be set up again for your networks.

    sudo apt-get install network-manager net-tools

    However it cannot re-install. Im guesing its missing the files. I have boot cd if that means anything? Assuming that is the problem.

    Cheers

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •