Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am fairly new to linux and would like to know the legality of the wget command. i would like to download a site as a template. changing all of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Wget

I am fairly new to linux and would like to know the legality of the wget command. i would like to download a site as a template. changing all of the info but keeping the structure. is the downloading of a site with no malicious intent legal?

thanks in advance.

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    I think your question is to do with copyright and legal issues rather that wget. Some websites are copyrighted, so if you are found to be using their images, content, template etc without the owners consent, you could be done for copyright infringement depending on the laws of your country.

Linux Guru
    Copyrighted material can't be used without permissions, that's not wget's problem.

However, downloading it is not ilegal, since, in first place, to view a site implies that you are downloading it, in one or another way. There's no magical way you can view a site without downloading it's contents. That'd be the informatic version of telepathy.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child View Post
    I think your question is to do with copyright and legal issues rather that wget. Some websites are copyrighted, so if you are found to be using their images, content, template etc without the owners consent, you could be done for copyright infringement depending on the laws of your country.
    According to the legislation in some countries (e.g. Finland), all website designs are copyrighted, even if you cannot find an explicit (c) there. So it all depends on your local legislation.

Don't assume, that we all live in the same country...

mikko

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MikJP View Post