Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, So i am new to Linux. I have just installed Ubuntu on an old desktop and am pretty able with computers in general, but i have an idea ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which distro to get for emulator project

Hi all,

So i am new to Linux. I have just installed Ubuntu on an old desktop and am pretty able with computers in general, but i have an idea for a project, and would like your opinion. The project is this:

I would like to have my old computer start up with a menu allowing me to choose between X amount of emulators that will allow me to play old games (Dosbox, UAE etc.). I am imagining that for this i will need to write a program that executes each time the computer starts up or something of the like.

Does anyone have ideas on which distro to get, how i should write said program or any other ideas on how to do this, i would very much like to hear from you!

Please remember that I am new to Linux, so if some of this sounds lame just ignore it. If you have any links on what I should read up on before i start, please post URLs.

Thanks,
    EsbenH

Just Joined!
    hello, very good idea

but benefits that have your computer? ( CPU, RAM, HD, and grafics)

i recomend a distro especific of games. Is a live-cd ( execute and play, not install) live.linux-gamers.net

Just Joined!
    Hiya Pell,

Thanks for your reply. Although I see the point of using a 'game-specific' distro i think that it may be too hard to realize what i want; namely to use the already made emulators.

It seems (although im not sure) that the Live.Linux dvd are only able to run games made for Linux, and what i want to do is to be able to play my old Amiga and DOS games. Do you know if this would be possible with the Live.Linux dvd?

The system I will initially be using is this:

AMD K7 ATHLON Palomino 1.4GhZ
    ASUS GeForce3 V8200 TI200 Deluxe
    SB Audigy Platinum
    1GB RAM