Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I am a beginner at Linux. I have played around with Debian and Fedora before, but never had my own computer with Linux installed on it. Can anyone ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cheap Computer

Hello all,

I am a beginner at Linux. I have played around with Debian and Fedora before, but never had my own computer with Linux installed on it.

Can anyone recommend a place to buy a cheap computer that would be good enough for running for example Debian or Fedora?

My budget is not much more than $200. I would like to just be able to play with it and to have it for checking email and such. (My windows computer takes for ever to start up just for checking email.)

Thanks,
    Thomas

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

I'd recommend looking at the computer shops that are local to you. If you order online, the shipping of a desktop computer would eat up a large amount of your budget. If you can get one that doesn't have Windows installed on it, you should save a bit more money.

If you have plenty of space on the hard drive of your current Windows machine, you might be able to dual-boot between Window and Linux. If need be, you can get an additional 80GB hard drive for as low as $40.

Hope it all works out well for you.
    oz

Actually, New Egg has been carrying a few PC's for a pretty good price. I been looking into getting one, myself.
    Example: Link and Link 2
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the replies.

The thing on "New Egg" looks good. Is it in general considered as a trustworthy company?

I have an old IBM laptop with an almost filled 40 GB harddrive .

Thomas

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by ThomasM View Post