Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Can put Kazaa on Linux??????...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    12

    Kazaa on Linux????


    Can put Kazaa on Linux??????

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Not natively, but I hear that it's supposed to run through Wine. I'd recommend Direct Connect instead, though.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3
    you can wine kazaa lite.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Norway, Asker
    Posts
    267
    Yes, but then you need some files whcih emulates MSIE or something, since kazaa(lite) depends on it. Well, dont kill me if its wrong, i heard it from a friend

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA, Texas
    Posts
    217
    I tried it once ... waste of time ... just went back to LimeWire.
    [ [ SykkN alloc ] initWithThePowerTo: destroyYouAll ];
    /* Don\'t make me use it! */

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1
    Limewire sux! Kazaa rules!!! :P

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Both limewire and kazaa are really bad. The only P2P network that I find usable is Direct Connect. Of course it does require a good user agent; the original NMDC is so bad that words cannot express it. It's actually worse than Windows (now there's a phrase I never thought I'd write).

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    75
    I would have to say kazaa is only good because of the speed.
    Not once have I downloaded something so fast as to not know what I was downloading till after I got it with something other than kazaa lite.

    BTW: DCGUI-QT rocks.
    But you need a bigger harddrive than mine if you want to get in a good hub.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That is true, of course. While it does encourage sharing for those with large HDs, it creates big problems for those with small HDs.
    I have a 120 GB HD anyway, so that's not a problem for me. The only problem is that I'll have to buy another one soon since I'm running out of space on it. =)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •