Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
well, it's got either 64 or 128mb fo ram, not sure....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    well, it's got either 64 or 128mb fo ram, not sure.

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by linkxs View Post
    well, it's got either 64 or 128mb fo ram, not sure.
    128 MB would be sufficient for Puppy: Maybe as a LiveCD a bit slow but with full installation and swap-Partition it will work for sure.

    If it has only 64 MB RAM you will have to return to v2.12 or so than it will also work.
    There are also various derivates even for multimedia

    such as Mediapup, Teenpup, (2007, 2008, 2009)and so on

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9
    yeah, i tried puppy on a different computer, wasn't that bad. here, right now i'll try it on my toshiba.

    well, tried it, but it didn't even boot up because of my pcmcia cd-rom, prolly. lame. is there a way to boot to floppy and then force it to read a usb and boot puppy from that?

  4. #14
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    It's possible to make a floppy boot disc...I've never tried, so I'm not sure how exactly to go about it. I would suggest trying with Debian.

    Installing Debian GNU/Linux via the Internet

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by linkxs View Post
    yeah, i tried puppy on a different computer, wasn't that bad. here, right now i'll try it on my toshiba.

    well, tried it, but it didn't even boot up because of my pcmcia cd-rom, prolly. lame. is there a way to boot to floppy and then force it to read a usb and boot puppy from that?
    Did you already check the Bios boot-preferences?

  6. #16
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,091
    well, tried it, but it didn't even boot up because of my pcmcia cd-rom
    SmartBootmanager has the capability of booting up a pcmcia cdrom.I have used it (made a smartbootmanger bootable floppydisc) and I remember it was a choice on the menu. I wrote a tutorial for making the floppy HERE.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •